Kids can embarrass at any moment.

My son never ceases to amaze me with his funny remarks. While hanging out with a group of people last week my son said this random thought to everyone. “My daddy passed out in front of a liquor store”. WHAT? I didn’t know whether to laugh or do damage control and try to explain to everyone what actually happened. I will always love the fact that my son inherited my ‘randomness’. haha. For those that don’t know, I will go ahead and explain why my son said this. This past summer, while driving home from work in my ‘little’ truck, I had a blowout on the highway and had to pull over and made it down the exit to the nearest store. It happen to be in a bad area of town and in front of a liquor store. Well, it was about 102 degrees outside and I was already pouring in sweat because I had no air conditioning in my truck. I know, not smart for Texas summers. I got out to change the tire and realized that my spare had been stolen a few months prior. I called my wife to come and get me and take me to get a spare tire. She arrived about 30 minutes later. (I had been basking in the heat trying to get the tire off but the wheel was rusted onto the truck. (’93 Sonoma) I was rocking the tire back and forth, trying to knock it loose so I could change the tire. I have changed many tires in my life and that’s why I was so frustrated. Long story short…while rocking the tire, my finger got caught between the tire and the truck and the wheel crushed my finger. Blood went everywhere and the pain was intense. That combined with my lack of water and the temp outside caused me to pass out and then I had a heat stroke. (remember, I was in a bad area of town, in front of a liquor store) I went to the ER and eventually everything was fine except the annoyance of having my finger in a splint. Did I mention this happened on my birthday?

  1. #1 by Karen on October 23, 2010 - 9:41 pm

    Oh my goodness! At least now you can have a chuckle over it!!

Leave a Reply

