Patience?

I think we need to learn the art of patience. We should apply discipline to our thoughts when they become anxious over the outcome of a goal. Impatience breeds anxiety, fear, discouragement and failure. Patience creates confidence, decisiveness, and a rational outlook, which eventually leads to success. Lately, there have been a lot of things going on behind the scenes here. After the CNN article came out my testimony skyrocketed to the national level. I received some pretty interesting phone calls from some producers of some huge tv shows. It was all a little overwhelming. In fact, I still can’t believe it. I finally had to choose between three shows that all wanted the ‘first’ story. I am not mentioning this to gloat, because if you know me at all then you realize that is the last thing on my mind. I never thought I would be in this kind of position. I chose a show! It’s not set in stone yet, so I don’t want to mention the specifics, but as I contemplate the possibility of not getting to be on this show because of scheduling issues, I realized the real meaning of what is going on here. I just want to help others. Sure, I may have got caught up in the possibility of a few minutes of fame. I also know that this media attention will soon come to an end and I pray a few things will come from it; none of which involves being famous. I desire for God to be glorified through everything that happens, I want my testimony to be told as it could also help others that are hurting inside, and be an encouragement to those that might not believe they can make it. I don’t want to reflect the notion that I believe this is my story and my story alone. I know that there are many variables that helped me throughout my life. (God, Family, Friends, etc) The main idea of this post was to mention the necessity of patience.  Instead of focusing on what tv show I may be on or when my book is going to come out, I need to be patient, focus on God’s plans for my future,  the blessing of my life right now, and the ability to even tell my story. I recently received a phone call to appear somewhere to speak on behalf of what my mom went through. They told me that my testimony alone could help this other guest to get the strength to leave her abusive situation.  Isn’t it amazing how God turns bad things in to good?  The storms in my life have tried to knock me down, but my faith and family have helped me to ‘keep going’. I owe my life to God and have been blessed with a some amazing people who have stuck by me through the trials. I didn’t make it alone, that is obvious.  I continue to pray for patience as my family and I are eagerly awaiting some coming announcements. I know that people always joke that you shouldn’t pray for patience, but it is a necessity as impatience can consume us. I choose for God to consume me, so pray for patience I must!

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

