A few lines from 3 old poems…

        The blessing of my seed (written a few years back about my son, Dylan)

The manners pour out, not perfect but still improving

Does he know that I’m still trying to figure out what I’m doing?

I pray and I pray for great wisdom during your rebel days

I also pray that these revolts are just a temporary phase.

I know it’s not a phase even though I pray it might be,

IRONY, my Grandma said that I would have a child just like me.

I guess that would’ve been awesome if I was considered the perfect model.

but when “great kid” pills where handed out, my portion got left in the bottle.

I promise to be there for my son, whether he is crazy popular or the “shy” “lone-one”

I promise to be there for his first touchdown, or his first homerun…

                   Michael

 (written when I was a kid about my brother who was selfishly taken from me at 8yrs old)

It hurts a lot when I see other siblings fight,

cuz being without you Mike is hell inside,

Michael I love you, I know you love me too,

I know you’re with me during all the struggles I go through.

I had a big heart, but it was unexpressed,

I wish time could go back to the day you left,

I’d do somethin’ different, I’d atleast try,

’cause my world ended the day you died.

        No title (written for my fiance Crystal, 10yrs ago)

…I lost my family, but yet I gained one, and though in my life it has rained some,

it’s always people like you who shine in my life, who bring out the encaged sun.

As I close this rhyme, I just want to make sure you know,

that I’ve been where I don’t want to be, so I’m going to go where God wants me to go.

Crystal, I’m asking you if you’ll be there through all my teaching and my learning,

I want you to be the third set of footprints in the sand, as I continue my journey…

  1. #1 by Crystal Keith on September 2, 2010 - 5:18 am

    I just want to hug you tight, everytime I read these poems.

  2. #2 by Matthew on September 3, 2010 - 2:19 pm

    I just read the article on CNN.com about your childhood. You sound like an amazing person. I have three kids one of which is a 9 month old baby boy. I know how amazing fatherhood is. Absolutely the best thing that has ever happened to me. Good luck with the rest of your life and God Bless.

  3. #3 by Mandy on September 3, 2010 - 3:39 pm

    Beautiful poems Chris.

  4. #4 by dam on September 3, 2010 - 3:39 pm

    Hi Chris. These poems are really touching. I have two boys, and I can’t imagine losing one. I’m truly sorry for the loss of your brother.

    I read the article about you on CNN. I’m agnostic, but I see what a huge comfort belief in God can be. I just wanted to let you know that I’m glad you made it. The world is a much better place with you here. There are many good people. Keep the faith.

    Debbie.

  5. #5 by Mel on September 3, 2010 - 4:09 pm

    Thank you for sharing your story! Your poems are truly heartfelt.

  6. #6 by Jessica on September 3, 2010 - 4:58 pm

    I read your story today on CNN and i couldn’t help but to shed a tear. When i finished reading the article i couldn’t help but to smile about the person you are today. You never gave up and that’s inspiring. Especially how you are a great father. In the world we live in today there are many “fathers” out there who ignore their children and mistreat them. God Bless you.

  7. #7 by Maribel Quinones on September 3, 2010 - 5:07 pm

    Very thoughtful poem, I feel the same way about my son. We pray and will provide a positive environment, but most important we lead by example! I thank you for choosing to be a role model to youth who need it the most!

  8. #8 by Natalie Underwood on September 3, 2010 - 10:01 pm

    I feel as though you are a member of my family. If you ever want to come to Georgia and spread your love to us in my community I will be glad to have you come.

  9. #9 by Nicole on September 4, 2010 - 5:42 am

    My pastor send me the link to your story on CNN today. I have been struggling with my family’s past, who I am, and my faith in God. It is a comfort to me to know that I am not alone in these struggles and it gives me hope to see someone like yourself (who went trough far worse than me)to continue to live by your faith in God. Thank you for sharing your story, I believe that God will continue to use it to help others!

    • #10 by cK on October 9, 2010 - 4:06 am

      Thank you so much. Thank you for sharing with me. Email me anytime, I would love to talk with you clkeith21@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

