Whom to consult…

 

If you are a policy man, read Daniel

If you are getting lazy, watch James

If your faith is below par, read Paul

If there is no song in your heart, listen to David

If you are getting sordid, spend a while with Isaiah

If you are getting weak-kneed, take a look at Elijah

If you are just a little bit headstrong, go to see Moses

If you are impatient, sit down quietly and have a talk with Job

If you are losing sight of the future, climb up to Revelation and get a glimpse of the promised land

If you want to talk at anytime, that’s what I am here for.

  1. #1 by Crystal Keith on August 10, 2010 - 4:29 pm

    I love this one, and wish we knew who wrote it.

  2. #2 by Julie Landes on September 3, 2010 - 3:08 pm

    What a great reminder what to read when we go through this crazy life

  3. #3 by Joe on September 3, 2010 - 3:38 pm

    Amazing story. So glad you have found a joyful path.

  4. #4 by Hernan on September 3, 2010 - 3:56 pm

    Oh man you have made me cry like a baby. I read the article that was published on CNN about you and I felt so emotional I cried at work 🙂

    Thanks for writing, for helping this world to be a better world and for staying alive!

    Hernan Maldonado

  5. #5 by Julie Pinegar on September 3, 2010 - 4:04 pm

    Wow- Chris i just read your stroy online- how very GREAT is our God!! What a huge blessing you are-I just pray a blessing over you that your story will bring many many people the hope and love that is in Jesus Christ!! May you continue to bless others with your amazing story!! Much much love in Jesus- Julie

  6. #6 by Jacinda on September 3, 2010 - 4:17 pm

    Hello Keith I am touched, amazed and speechless at your testimony of faith! I would like to invite you to tell your story on my television show in Chicago.

    Let me know if this is possible. Thanks! I look forward to hearing from you.

    Jacinda Lockett

  7. #7 by rhonda on September 3, 2010 - 4:35 pm

    GOD bless you and your family, your words WERE THE WORDS OF GOD to me. I always say that what the devil meant for my harm God will turn in into HIS glory and my good to share…son you have done that, thank you,
    in CHRIST, Rhonda Gregory

  8. #8 by Kelly on September 3, 2010 - 4:50 pm

    These are VERY well written/spoken words of wisdom! Thanks for sharing them! (copying & pasting them now to pass on.)

  9. #9 by delaine on September 3, 2010 - 5:28 pm

    your story was posted by my brother, his comment was when our father tried to kill his family , i too had a gun in my hand

    i am not 54, my bro 57, he was 18 when his shot saved our lives

    it is always hard, sometimes i have to step back and remember we have all come a long way,
    and not one of us expected to live

    i understnad what you mean,, how can you trust when the ones that should love you the most, have betrayed you

    thank you for sharing your life to help others
    . you have inspired me today. Namaste

  10. #10 by Tirzah on September 3, 2010 - 5:34 pm

    You are so inspirational. Coming from a mother who never wanted anything to do with me and never understanding how she could abandon her own child seems so small to your situation. You are amazing and everyone should know your story:)

  11. #11 by Elysia on September 3, 2010 - 5:40 pm

    Love it! 😉

  12. #12 by Nobi Sawyer on September 3, 2010 - 5:57 pm

    I’ve just read your story on CNN.com. What a great victory over shadows of death.

    Nobi Sawyer, CPA
    Dallas, TX

  13. #13 by Darlene B. Lauth on September 3, 2010 - 6:00 pm

    You and your family are fabulous!!! I am best friends with Dianne Hinsch, who told me to read this. I was crying as I read it. I have two sons; one 23 and one 20. God indeed saved you. Some day, you will know why. (We all will!) Until then keep doing your good work!!!
    Blessings to you all;
    Darlene Berry Lauth

  14. #14 by Anonymous on September 3, 2010 - 6:27 pm

    Just want to tell you – stop being afraid to be like your parents. I lived with it till my own children grew up to be adults. We have our own personalities, and we are making the world better for our children.

  15. #15 by Steve on September 3, 2010 - 7:28 pm

    After being abused all my life, I had a knife in my hand about to kill my passed out father when i was 15 when my mother held me back and told us to pack our stuff. We went to a battered wives shelter and the rest is history. After not talking to my dad for 25 years, I finally forgave him. He’s old now and has no friends. I started to get to know him again and it’s healed alot of wounds and guilt I felt over the years. I’m not religious, but you have to forgive your father for whatever was wrong with him. It’ll help you to be happier with your life. Anyways, wanted to share that with you. Good luck in life. You’re doin a good job at living! 🙂

  16. #16 by Beverly on September 3, 2010 - 8:03 pm

    You are helping to make the world a better place. Your story serves to show others that your life is what you choose to make of it. I am so proud of the person you are and I wish you and your family all the best.

    Much respect,
    Beverly

  17. #17 by Oriol on September 4, 2010 - 1:42 am

    Great article on CNN. I read it especially because a similar thing happened to me with my father, in 1970, in Spain. We were both together waiting at the train station when a train was coming. He pushed me and himself to the tracks. The train stopped on time, probably by inches. I survived and I didn’t necessarily hate him. I continued with my life, together with my mother. Now my wife and I wish to become parents eventually, and I know that I won’t be like my father was to me. Reading your article, it impressed me the part that read that when you look at your son, you think how can a father ever do this to a son. We need to give thanks that we are alive, and that we can help others. Thanks for sharing your story!!!

  18. #18 by Lakshmi on September 4, 2010 - 4:43 am

    I read your story and sat down in prayer. I cried to the Lord because I felt your pain. I loved your blog posts as well. I did not have such a great childhood and I hoped to get a happy family. But I got abused in my marriage as well. I decided the greatest healer is to reach out and help children in suffering. There are kids who are suffering far more then me. I mentor a foster child by being a child advocate. But no matter what I do I feel it is not enough in the eyes of the Lord. God bless you and peace be with you.

  19. #19 by Angela Marshall on September 4, 2010 - 11:30 am

    May God continue to bless you and your family. What an amazing testimony you are! I too had a very troubled childhood and through lots of prayer and counseling have been able to make a difference in the lives of others. I think of the quote, “that which doesn’t kill me will make me stronger”. Your resilience is awe-inspiring. Stay strong, stay close to God, but remember to take care of yourself always as you take care of others!

    Love, one of you sisters in Christ

  20. #20 by Wendy S on September 4, 2010 - 5:57 pm

    I am so sorry about what happened to you when you were young and am so proud of who you are today. Yes, your story made me cry because its unbelievable that a parent could be so caught up in their own grief that they could wish to harm their precious family. Your story shows that God has his hand on us and will see us through the most horrible and unimaginable of times. What a wonderful blessing you are to YOUR family and the world! I’m so happy for you. Keep up the good works!

    Wendy

  21. #21 by Darla Kasten on September 5, 2010 - 2:56 am

    God gives us free will, sometimes people choose evil. I am so happy you are using yours for good. Your mother & brother are very proud of you! Your family is beautiful, and please don’t worry why he did those horrible things people who do not choose evil can never understand that,it just isn’t possible. Just know that God kept you alive for a wonderful reason.No matter how difficult things are, Please stay strong for your beautiful wife, and adorable son! I am so glad I saw your story. May God continue to bless you & yours!
    Peace & Love,
    Darla

  22. #22 by Kendall on September 5, 2010 - 8:38 pm

    My,my,my…. This poem is ever so touching…But your testimony by itself has reassured my faith in God… Tears are falling as I type and try to reply… There is hope in this cruel world…There is love…and there are deciples being molded day in and day out. You are reassurance that God has not forgotten about us. Though this world is not fair and creates so many broken hearts You alone stand tall, Putting your fears, hate, and doubts behind. Thank You Mr.Keith…Thank You… And I thank God for his unchanging hand~ showing you PURE Grace & Mercy! May god continue blessing you and your family. The devil may have thought he won that battle back in 1985 BUT GOD has WON the WAR… You are living proof!

  23. #23 by Roberta Cruz on September 6, 2010 - 1:48 am

    Thanks for the humbling and brave story you shared. I work with people that live in dangerous and sad situations daily and I am going to let people know about your story to give them hope. There are so many people out there that ignore what is really going on in our society and everytime someone like you opens up and shares their story it shows people true societal issues and also that they are real and need to be addressed and not ignored. Thank you so much! You are a true gem!!!!

  24. #24 by Clint White on September 6, 2010 - 2:24 am

    God Bless you

  25. #25 by Ed B on September 6, 2010 - 5:38 am

    God never gives us more than we can handle. I’ve lost 3 homes through disaster, endured numerous Super Typhoons, earthquakes, and yes a volcano. I suffered a bicycle accident in 1992 that leaves me with short term memory loss. After enduring 20 years of family separation here at home while stationed overseas in the military, I returned home to witness the death of my father by a fallen oak tree that he had cut.

    For the last 10 years I’ve worked as a public servant, helping others with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder and Traumatic Brain Injuries. As well as those that need financial relief during emergencies. But the secret was, God was grooming me for this day my entire life. God Bless you and your family.

  26. #26 by Brenda on September 6, 2010 - 1:29 pm

    An amazing story and absolute proof of what good can come from evil.
    God Bless

  1. If you are | danliew

Leave a Reply

